2014 L’Oréal-UNESCO Women’s Awards in the Life Sciences

Since its inception in 1998, the For Women in Science partnership expands each year. To date the L’Oreal-UNESCO Awards have distinguished 77 eminent women scientists at the height of their career and the International Fellowships have supported 195 promising young women scientists to pursue doctoral and postdoctoral research projects.

In addition a network of National and Regional Fellowship programs at the doctoral level, now in over 115 countries with new programs launching every year has encouraged over 1200 young women to continue their scientific research studies within their country of origin.

An historic moment for the Awards happened when two of the 2009 Nobel Prizes in science were awarded to Laureates of the 2008 L’Oreal-UNESCO Awards in Life Sciences: Elizabeth Blackburn (USA) in Medicine and Ada Yonath (Israel) in Chemistry.

The l’Oréal-UNESCO Awards are attributed each year to distinguish eminent women scientists at the height of their career.

The 2014 Awards will be given to 5 women scientists who have made a significant contribution in theLife Sciences.

One Award is given per geographic region as follows:
– Africa/Arab States
– Asia (including Oceania and Pacific)
– Europe
– Latin America
– North America (Canada and USA)

Each award is worth $100 000.

Selection Criteria:
The candidate must:
· Be recognized for her personal scientific excellence
· Be actively involved in scientific research
· Be involved in any field of the Life Sciences

Multiple Nominations and Renominations:
If you wish to nominate several candidates or renominate a candidate you presented in the past you may do so.

We would like to invite you to submit candidates for the 2014 L’Oréal-UNESCO Awards in the LIFE SCIENCES.
You can propose outstanding women scientists from any continent. The five $100 000 Awards will be presented in March 2014 in Paris to five women scientists who have made an outstanding contribution to scientific advancement.
In order to nominate your candidate, please sign in to the “For Women in Science” Platform accessible on www.fwis.fr. The platform is very user friendly and will ask you to upload all the necessary documents in order to submit the candidates’ application. Should you experience any difficulty, do not hesitate to contact
Dr. Raphaela Kitson-Pantano (Raphaela.kitsonpantano@loreal.com).
The deadline for submitting nominations is Friday 17th May 2013. Please be aware that only nominations received through the platform prior to this deadline will be considered by the Members of the Jury.
In 2012, the Jury designated the following Laureates in Life Sciences:
Professor Jill FARRANT (South Africa) for AFRICA& the ARAB STATES
Professor Ingrid SCHEFFER (Australia) for ASIA-PACIFIC
Professor Francis ASHCROFT (United Kingdom) for EUROPE
Professor Susana LOPEZ (Mexico) for LATIN AMERICA
Professor Bonnie BASSLER (USA) for NORTH AMERICA

We thank you for your active participation in ensuring that the best women in research from each continent are recognized and rewarded for their scientific excellence.

Corporate Communications, Sustainable Development & External Affairs
41 rue Martre – 92117 Clichy Cédex – France
Tel: +33 (0)1 47 56 73 33

For more information: please visit UNESCO Gender & Science, L’Oreal For Women in Science.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Designed & Developed by Web Ideations